Proceedings of ISP RAS


Method of Symbolic Test Scenarios Automated Concretization

N.V. Voinov (SPbPU, Saint-Petersburg), P.D. Drobintsev (SPbPU, Saint-Petersburg), I.V. Nikiforov (SPbPU, Saint-Petersburg), V.P. Kotlyarov (SPbPU, Saint-Petersburg), A.V. Kolchin (Glushkov Institute of Cybernetics NAS, Ukraine)

Abstract

When providing correctness checking for the models of software systems which include data types with wide range of values, a single symbolic behavioral scenario may cover a set of equivalent scenarios with concrete values. This feature is especially useful for systems with integer data types. However symbolic scenarios cannot be used as executable tests, they shall be concretized prior to execution. On the other hand, modern industrial software projects may contain many thousands of tests with nontrivial dependencies between their parameters. Manual selection and insertion of concrete values is impossible which requires full automation of the process. Besides, the actual experience in modern testing shows that efforts on bugs detection decrease significantly when directed method of selecting values is used instead of random selection of values. Concretization process shall follow a test plan prepared by tester. Such plans shall be flexible and generated based on standard templates or plans modified by user.
Method of symbolic test scenarios automated concretization which resolves mentioned issues is described in the article. It allows to control coverage of boundary test parameters values which increases the quality of developed software.
The developed method was successfully integrated into single complex technology of verification and testing which includes creation of a formal model based on initial requirements, automated symbolic verification, generation and concretization of symbolic behavioral scenarios, generation of test sets based on concretized scenarios and analysis of tests execution verdict. Results of method application within integrated technology are also shown.

Keywords

concretization; symbolic behavior scenario; software testing

Edition

Proceedings of the Institute for System Programming, vol. 27, issue 3, 2015, pp. 115-124

ISSN 2220-6426 (Online), ISSN 2079-8156 (Print).

DOI: 10.15514/ISPRAS-2015-27(3)-8

Full text of the paper in pdf Back to the contents of the volume

Сборники трудов ИСП РАН


Метод автоматической конкретизации символических тестовых сценариев

Н.В. Воинов (СПбПУ, Санкт-Петербург), П.Д. Дробинцев (СПбПУ, Санкт-Петербург), И.В. Никифоров (СПбПУ, Санкт-Петербург), В.П. Котляров (СПбПУ, Санкт-Петербург), А.В. Колчин (ИК им.В.М.Глушкова, Украина)

Аннотация

При проверке корректности моделей программных систем с типами данных, включающими большой диапазон значений, один символьный поведенческий сценарий может покрывать множество сценариев с конкретными значениями. Это свойство особенно эффективно используется для систем, использующих числовые типы данных. Однако символьные сценарии в исходном виде непригодны для создания по ним исполнимых тестов, для исполнения тесты должны быть конкретизированы. С другой стороны, в современных промышленных проектах количество тестов исчисляется тысячами, а зависимость между значениями параметров нетривиальна. Осуществлять вручную выбор и подстановку взаимосогласованных конкретных значений практически невозможно, поэтому процесс конкретизации должен быть полностью автоматическим. Кроме того, реальная практика тестирования свидетельствует об уменьшении трудоемкости поиска дефектов при направленном выборе значений по сравнению со случайном выбором. При подстановках необходимо следовать плану тестирования, подготовленному заранее тестировщиком. Подобные планы должны быть гибкими, основная их часть должна генерироваться на основе стандартных шаблонов или переиспользовать отредактированные пользователем планы.
В работе описан полностью автоматизированный метод конкретизации символьных сценариев, решающий упомянутые проблемы. Метод позволяет контролировать покрытие граничных значений параметров теста, что в результате дает возможность повысить качество создаваемого тестового набора.
Разработанный метод был успешно интегрирован в единую технологическую цепочку верификации и тестирования, включающую создание формальной модели системы по исходным требованиям, автоматическую символьную верификацию, генерацию и конкретизацию символьных поведенческих сценариев, генерацию тестовых наборов по конкретизированным сценариям, а также средства анализа результатов исполнения тестов. Также продемонстрированы результаты применения технологической цепочки с интегрированным методом автоматической конкретизации.

Ключевые слова

concretization; symbolic behavior scenario; software testing

Издание

Труды Института системного программирования РАН, том 27, вып. 3, 2015, стр. 115-124

ISSN 2220-6426 (Online), ISSN 2079-8156 (Print).

DOI: 10.15514/ISPRAS-2015-27(3)-8

Полный текст статьи в формате pdf (на английском) Вернуться к содержанию тома