Proceedings of ISP RAS


Software Tools for Organization and Support of Distance Learning Game System «3Ducation»

L.S. Zelenko (SSAU, Samara), D.A. Konopelkin (SSAU, Samara), V.S. Ivanov (SSAU, Samara), A.O. Grigoryev (SSAU, Samara), A.E. Semenov (SSAU, Samara), M.A. Savachaev (SSAU, Samara), E.E. Poberezkin (SSAU, Samara)

Abstract

The article describes the purpose and capabilities of distance learning system «3Ducation», which is a part of the information space of SSAU School of Computer Science. The article also describes the architecture and structure of the system and all its constituent software components. «3Ducation» system has a client-server structure; it consists of a large number of subsystems, each of which solves problems of providing support for the system work and its interaction with other systems. On the server side there is a database and an application server installed, on the client side it is enough to install a small Unity Web Player plug-in and, using a web browser, navigate through the virtual space and surf the site as a virtual world 3D scenes are directly integrated into the HTML pages of the site. The server part of the system implements the MVC architecture (Model-View-Controller); it uses TCP/IP as the protocol of data exchange over the network.
«3Ducation» system is based on two principles: the game approach and virtual worlds technologies. Virtual reality technologies allow to transfer the learning process into three-dimensional space and make educational environment more interesting and learning process more fun. Efficient and stable work of the system is provided by game engine Unity3D (free version). Game approach implementing active methods of educational activities is aimed at increasing the interest of students, due to the introduction of the competitive element (encouragement for achievements) interest in self-education is constantly maintained and even increased. The system implements the capability of teamwork.
Currently «3Ducation» system is implemented as a multi-user educational environment where students could work together to carry out learning activities, cooperating and communicating with one another, including using a mobile version of the system. The system provides a unified interactive way of access to information resources from both a teacher and a student side; with its help it is possible to increase the effectiveness of the acquisition of knowledge and skills (both individual and social).

Keywords

E-learning, gaming approach, technology of virtual reality, three-dimensional space, a web application, game engine Unity3D, database

Edition

Proceedings of the Institute for System Programming, vol. 27, issue 3, 2015, pp. 365-378.

ISSN 2220-6426 (Online), ISSN 2079-8156 (Print).

DOI: 10.15514/ISPRAS-2015-27(3)-26

Full text of the paper in pdf Back to the contents of the volume

Сборники трудов ИСП РАН


Программные средства для организации и поддержки игровой дистанционной обучающей системы «3Ducation»

Л.С. Зеленко (СГАУ, Самара), Д.А. Конопелькин (СГАУ, Самара), В.С. Иванов (СГАУ, Самара), А.О. Григорьев (СГАУ, Самара), А.Е. Семенов (СГАУ, Самара), М.А. Савачаев (СГАУ, Самара), Е.Е. Поберёзкин (СГАУ, Самара)

Аннотация

В статье описываются назначение и возможности дистанционной обучающей системы «3Ducation», которая входит в информационное пространство школы информатики СГАУ. Также рассматриваются архитектура и структурная схема системы и описание всех входящих в него программных компонентов. Система «3Ducation» имеет клиент-серверную структуру, она состоит из большого числа подсистем, каждая из которых решает задачи, обеспечивающие поддержку работы системы и ее взаимодействия с другими системами. На серверной части установлена база данных и находится сервер приложения, на клиентской части достаточно установить небольшой плагин Unity Web Player и, используя веб-браузер, перемещаться по виртуальному пространству и просматривать страницы сайта, так как 3D-сцены виртуального мира напрямую интегрируются в HTML-страницы сайта. Серверная часть системы реализует архитектуру MVC (Model-View-Controller), в качестве протокола обмена данными по сети используется протокол TCP/IP.
Система «3Ducation» построена на двух принципах: игровом подходе и технологиях виртуальных миров. Технологии виртуальной реальности позволяют перенести процесс обучения внутрь трехмерного пространства и сделать обучающее пространство более интересным, а процесс обучения более увлекательным. Эффективную и стабильную работу системы обеспечивает игровой «движок» Unity3D (бесплатная версия). Игровой подход, с помощью которого реализуются активные методы педагогической деятельности, нацелен на повышение заинтересованности обучаемых, за счет введения соревновательного элемента (поощрения за достижения) постоянно поддерживается и даже увеличивается интерес к самостоятельному обучению. В системе реализуется возможность командной работы.
В настоящее время система «3Ducation» реализована в виде многопользовательской образовательной среды, где учащиеся могли бы совместно выполнять учебные задания, кооперируясь и общаясь между собой, в том числе используя мобильную версию системы. Система обеспечивает единый интерактивный способ доступа к информационным ресурсам как со стороны преподавателя, так и со стороны обучаемого, с ее помощью можно повысить эффективность приобретения знаний, умений и навыков (как индивидуальных, так и социальных).

Ключевые слова

E-learning, gaming approach, technology of virtual reality, three-dimensional space, a web application, game engine Unity3D, database

Издание

Труды Института системного программирования РАН, том 27, вып. 3, 2015, стр. 365-378.

ISSN 2220-6426 (Online), ISSN 2079-8156 (Print).

DOI: 10.15514/ISPRAS-2015-27(3)-26

Полный текст статьи в формате pdf (на английском) Вернуться к содержанию тома