Proceedings of ISP RAS


Integration Points of Operating System Verification Techniques

A. K. Petrenko (ISP RAS, Moscow; MSU, Moscow; MIPT, Moscow; HSE, Moscow), V. V. Kuliamin (ISP RAS, Moscow; MSU, Moscow; HSE, Moscow), A. V. Khoroshilov (ISP RAS, Moscow; MSU, Moscow; MIPT, Moscow; HSE, Moscow)

Abstract

In this work the problem of high quality verification techniques applicable for operating systems is formulated. A perspective approach to solve this problem is integration of various verification methods. The solution technique can be considered successful if it allows to check the whole operating system and to verify in more accurate way the most important functions and components of the system, using more strict and formal methods for it. Based on the ISP RAS experience in operating system verification projects conducted using various verification techniques we determine development artifacts, that can be suitable integration point candidates for integration of formal specification based static and dynamic verification techniques for operating systems.
The article proposes to define common (shared) artifacts based on the consideration of typical verification tasks. Typical problems encountered in the use of different techniques of verification, provide the basis for integration techniques and verification processes. These types of problems are: the definition of a software contracts of modules (functions); the construction of the model environment; building the path, demonstrating the error; bringing levels of abstraction and assessment of the completeness of the verification. To the greatest extent on the role of artifacts representing the points of integration claim: software contract specifications, environment models and measurement of verification completeness.

Keywords

Theorem proving, software model checking, model-based testing, operating system, integration of verification methods, software contracts

Edition

Proceedings of the Institute for System Programming, vol. 27, issue 5, 2015, pp. 175-190.

ISSN 2220-6426 (Online), ISSN 2079-8156 (Print).

DOI: 10.15514/ISPRAS-2015-27(5)-10

Full text of the paper in pdf (in Russian) Back to the contents of the volume

Сборники трудов ИСП РАН


Об интеграции формальных методов в задачах верификации операционных систем

А.К.Петренко (ИСП РАН, Москва; МГУ, Москва; МФТИ, Москва; ВШЭ, Москва), В.В.Кулямин (ИСП РАН, Москва; МГУ, Москва; ВШЭ, Москва), А.В.Хорошилов (ИСП РАН, Москва; МГУ, Москва; МФТИ, Москва; ВШЭ, Москва)

Аннотация

В данной работе ставится задача разработки методов качественной верификации операционных систем, перспективным подходом к решению которой является интеграция различных техник верификации. Результатом успешного решения этой задачи может считаться комбинация методов верификации, которая позволяет проверить всю систему в целом и при этом более тщательно верифицировать наиболее важные ее компоненты и функции, используя для этого более строгие и формальные подходы. На основе опыта ИСП РАН, полученного при выполнении многочисленных проектов по верификации операционных систем с помощью различных методов выявлены артефакты разработки, являющиеся удобными кандидатами на роль точек сопряжения методов статической и динамической верификации ядра операционной системы на основе формальных спецификаций.
Выделение общих (разделяемых) артефактов предлагается провести на основе рассмотрения типовых задач верификации. Типовые задач, встречающиеся при использовании различных техник верификации, дают основу для интеграции техник и процессов верификации. К таким типовым задачам относятся: определение программного контракта модулей (функций), построение модели окружения, построение пути, демонстрирующего ошибку, увязка уровней абстракции и оценка полноты верификации. В наибольшей степени на роль артефактов представляющих собой точки интеграции претендуют контрактные спецификации, модели окружения и метрики (измерения) полноты верификации.

Ключевые слова

Дедуктивная верификация, проверка моделей, тестирование на основе моделей, операционная система, интеграция методов верификации, программные контракты

Издание

Труды Института системного программирования РАН, том 27, вып. 5, 2015, стр. 175-190.

ISSN 2220-6426 (Online), ISSN 2079-8156 (Print).

DOI: 10.15514/ISPRAS-2015-27(5)-10

Полный текст статьи в формате pdf Вернуться к содержанию тома