Proceedings of ISP RAS


Refinement Types in Jolie

Alexander Tchitchigin (Innopolis University, Innopolis, Russia)
Larisa Safina (Innopolis University, Innopolis, Russia)
Mohamed Elwakil (Innopolis University, Innopolis, Russia)
Manuel Mazzara (Innopolis University, Innopolis, Russia)
Fabrizio Montesi (Innopolis University, Innopolis, Russia)
Victor Rivera (Innopolis University, Innopolis, Russia)

Abstract

Jolie is the first language for microservices and it is currently dynamically type checked. This paper considers the opportunity to integrate dynamic and static type checking with the introduction of refinement types, verified via an SMT solver. The integration of the two aspects allows a scenario where the static verification of internal services and the dynamic verification of (potentially malicious) external services cooperate in order to reduce testing effort and enhance security.
Refinement types are well-known technique for numeric, array and algebraic data types. They rely on corresponding SMT-theories. Recently SMT solvers got support for a theory of strings and regular expressions. In the paper, we describe possible application of the theory to string refinement types. We use Jolie programming language to illustrate feasibility and usefulness of such extension. First, because Jolie already has syntax extension to support string refinements. We build on top of that extension to provide static type checking. Second, because in the realm of microservices the need for improved checking of string data is much higher as most of external communication goes through text-based protocols.
We present simplified but real-world example from the domain of web-development. We intentionally introduce a bug in the example demonstrating how easily it can slip a conventional type system. Proposed solution is feasible, as it do not accept program with the bug. Complete solution will need enhancements in precision and error reporting.

Keywords

Microservices, Jolie, Refinement Types, SMT, SAT, Z3

Edition

Proceedings of the Institute for System Programming, vol. 28, issue 2, 2016, pp. 33-44.

ISSN 2220-6426 (Online), ISSN 2079-8156 (Print).

DOI: 10.15514/ISPRAS-2016-28(2)-2

Full text of the paper in pdf Back to the contents of the volume

Сборники трудов ИСП РАН


Refinement типы для языка Jolie

Александр Чичигин (Университет Иннополис, Иннополис, Россия)
Лариса Сафина (Университет Иннополис, Иннополис, Россия)
Мохамед Эльвакиль (Университет Иннополис, Иннополис, Россия)
Мануэль Маццара (Университет Иннополис, Иннополис, Россия)
Фабрицио Монтези (Университет Иннополис, Иннополис, Россия)
Виктор Ривера (Университет Иннополис, Иннополис, Россия)

Аннотация

Jolie ¬— язык программирования для разработки микросервисов и на текущий момент является динамически проверяемым. В статье рассматривается возможность объединить динамическую и статическую проверку типов с помощью refinement типов, проверяемых SMT-решателем. Соединение этих двух аспектов делает возможным сценарий, когда статическая верификация внутренних сервисов и динамическая проверка (потенциально злонамеренных) внешних сервисов совместно снижают объёмы необходимого тестирования и увеличивают безопасность системы.
Refinement типы хорошо известны применительно к числовым типам данных, алгебраическим типам данных и массивам. Они основываются на соответствующих SMT теориях. Недавно SMT-решатели получили поддержку теории строк и регулярных выражений. В статье описывается возможность применения этой теории к строковым refinement типам. Мы используем язык программирования Jolie чтобы продемонстрировать целесообразность и полезность такого расширения. В первую очередь, потому что Jolie уже содержит синтаксическое расширение для строковых refinement типов. Мы развиваем указанное расширение, предоставляя статическую проверку типов. Во-вторых, поскольку в области микросервисов значение улучшенной проверки строковых данных гораздо выше, так как большинство коммуникаций с внешними системами происходит по текстовым протоколам.
Мы демонстрируем упрощённый, но реалистичный пример системы из области web-разработки. В пример преднамеренно внесена ошибка, показывая, как легко она ускользает от традиционной системы типов. Предложенное расширение целесообразно, поскольку оно не пропускает программу с ошибкой. Полноценное решение потребует доработки в части точности проверки и качества сообщений об ошибках.

Ключевые слова

Микросервисы, Jolie, Refinement типы, SMT, SAT, Z3

Издание

Труды Института системного программирования РАН, том 28, вып. 2, 2016, стр. 33-44.

ISSN 2220-6426 (Online), ISSN 2079-8156 (Print).

DOI: 10.15514/ISPRAS-2016-28(2)-2

Полный текст статьи в формате pdf (на английском) Вернуться к содержанию тома